Proprietary Blends Explained
How to interpret a total blend amount when individual ingredient quantities are not listed.
What a proprietary blend is
Supplement labels may group multiple ingredients under a named or generic blend. The panel can show the blend's total weight and list components without giving a separate weight for each one. This protects formulation details but reduces dose transparency for consumers and researchers.
Synaptigen as an example
Synaptigen lists a 20 mg proprietary probiotic blend containing L. paracasei, L. reuteri and B. lactis BL-04. The panel also states 3.5 billion CFU at the time of manufacture for the blend. It does not say how the weight or CFU count is divided among the three organisms.
Why this matters when reading research
Suppose a clinical trial uses a specific probiotic strain at a stated CFU level. If a product does not disclose the individual amount of that strain, you cannot confirm that the studied dose matches the commercial formula. The strain may be present, but the evidence match remains incomplete.
Does ingredient order tell you the exact dose?
Ingredient ordering can sometimes provide relative information under labeling rules, but it does not turn a proprietary blend into exact individual quantities. Avoid websites that reverse-engineer precise milligram or CFU values without a source.
How consumers can respond
Use what the label does disclose: total blend amount, organism names, strain codes where available, serving size and CFU basis. Then evaluate claims with appropriate uncertainty. A less transparent dose does not automatically mean a product is bad, but it does limit how confidently published studies can be mapped to it.
What proprietary blends hide—and what they still disclose
A proprietary blend can disclose the total weight of a mixture while omitting the amount of each component. That means the label may tell you which ingredients are present without giving enough information to compare every ingredient dose with a clinical study. Ingredient order can sometimes suggest relative quantity, but it does not reveal exact amounts.
Synaptigen’s label lists a 20 mg proprietary probiotic blend that provides 3.5 billion CFU at the time of manufacture and names three organisms. The label does not state each organism’s individual milligram weight or CFU allocation. This makes species-level and strain-level research useful as background, but precise dose matching is limited.
A proprietary blend is not automatically a sign of poor quality, nor is transparency alone proof of efficacy. It is simply an evidence constraint. The more a claim depends on a particular ingredient dose or strain, the more that missing detail matters when assessing whether external research is truly comparable.
The purpose of this page is to separate what can be verified from what remains uncertain. Product-label facts are treated as product facts; independent studies are used for context; and conclusions are not extended beyond the formulation, dose, strain, population or outcome that the evidence actually supports.
How we evaluate evidence for “Proprietary Blends Explained”
Consumer education is most useful when it creates a repeatable decision process. Rather than memorizing a claim about one supplement, use the same sequence each time: identify what the label says, identify the exact outcome being promised, look for human evidence that matches the formulation and population, and note where uncertainty remains.
Language is another clue. Terms such as “supports,” “helps maintain,” “clear mind” or “mental agility” can be structure/function or general-wellness language rather than the name of a validated clinical endpoint. That does not make the wording meaningless, but it does mean the reader should ask what was actually measured in the evidence being cited.
This page applies that framework to Synaptigen only where useful. The broader goal is to help readers distinguish label facts, plausible mechanisms, ingredient studies, finished-product trials and marketing interpretation without treating them as interchangeable.
Frequently asked questions
Does Synaptigen disclose each probiotic's individual CFU?
No. The 3.5 billion CFU figure is for the proprietary blend as a whole.
Can you calculate exact ingredient doses from a proprietary blend?
Not reliably without additional verified formulation information.
References & evidence
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Probiotics: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Background on probiotics, strain specificity, labeling, safety, and evidence.
- U.S. FDA — Information for Consumers on Using Dietary Supplements. Regulatory and consumer-safety context for dietary supplements.
External references are provided for independent scientific and regulatory context. No seller website links are used on this site.
