Synaptigen Ingredients: What the Current Label Lists
A label-first breakdown of the Synaptigen formula, with independent context on probiotics, prebiotics and evidence limitations.

| Label entry | Amount |
|---|---|
| Inulin powder (chicory root) | 100 mg |
| Proprietary probiotic blend | 20 mg · 3.5 billion CFU at manufacture |
| Streptococcus salivarius | 20 mg |
Inulin powder
Inulin is a fermentable carbohydrate commonly classified as a prebiotic fiber. Human research has examined inulin-type fructans for their effects on gut microbiota, including changes in bifidobacteria. Context matters: research doses in human studies can be measured in grams, while the Synaptigen label lists 100 mg of inulin. We therefore avoid implying that outcomes from substantially different amounts apply directly to this product.
The proprietary probiotic blend
The blend is listed as 20 mg and 3.5 billion CFU at the time of manufacture. It names Lactobacillus paracasei, Lactobacillus reuteri, and Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04. CFU describes viable microorganisms; it is not a milligram measurement. The label does not break out a separate CFU count or milligram amount for each organism.
Probiotic evidence is often strain-specific. The appearance of a species name in one study does not mean every strain, dose or formulation produces the same effect. BL-04 is a strain designation, while the supplied label does not show strain codes for the listed L. paracasei or L. reuteri.
Streptococcus salivarius
The label separately lists 20 mg of Streptococcus salivarius but does not provide a strain designation on the supplied panel. Published work exists on particular S. salivarius strains, including K12 and DB-B5, but those data should not be presented as proof for an unspecified strain. This is a good example of why strain-level identification matters in probiotic research.
Other ingredients
The label lists tricalcium phosphate, MCC (microcrystalline cellulose), natural strawberry flavor and peppermint essential oil under “Other Ingredients.” These may serve manufacturing, tablet, texture or flavor roles. Because the label does not list quantified amounts for them in the Supplement Facts panel, we do not treat them as quantified primary actives.
Ingredient evidence is not finished-product evidence
NIH notes that probiotic effects can depend on genus, species and strain, as well as dose and health context. The existence of probiotic or prebiotic research does not make Synaptigen itself “clinically proven.” A finished-product claim would require evidence on the finished formula at its actual dose and form.
Ingredient research library
Lactobacillus paracasei
Read the focused guide for context, evidence and practical considerations.
Lactobacillus reuteri
Read the focused guide for context, evidence and practical considerations.
Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04
Read the focused guide for context, evidence and practical considerations.
Inulin Prebiotic Fiber
Read the focused guide for context, evidence and practical considerations.
Streptococcus salivarius
Read the focused guide for context, evidence and practical considerations.
What Probiotic CFU Means
Read the focused guide for context, evidence and practical considerations.
Why Probiotic Strain Specificity Matters
Read the focused guide for context, evidence and practical considerations.
How to compare the formula with published research
For probiotics, match the organism as precisely as the label allows. A strain code is more informative than a species name alone, and a clinical result from one strain should not be generalized automatically to another. Synaptigen specifies BL-04 for Bifidobacterium lactis but does not show strain codes for every organism on the supplied panel.
For inulin, compare the labeled amount with the amounts used in human studies. Synaptigen lists 100 mg, while many microbiome studies of inulin use gram-level quantities. That difference is important context and is why this site does not state that the product reproduces outcomes from higher-dose trials.
For the proprietary probiotic blend, remember that 20 mg and 3.5 billion CFU describe different properties. The label gives the blend weight and the viable count at manufacture, but it does not disclose each organism’s individual share.
Frequently asked questions
What are the main ingredients in Synaptigen?
The current label lists 100 mg inulin powder, a 20 mg proprietary probiotic blend providing 3.5 billion CFU at manufacture, and 20 mg Streptococcus salivarius.
Which organisms are in the probiotic blend?
The label lists Lactobacillus paracasei, Lactobacillus reuteri and Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04.
Are strawberry and peppermint active ingredients?
The label places natural strawberry flavor and peppermint essential oil under Other Ingredients rather than the quantified Supplement Facts actives.
Does ingredient research prove Synaptigen works?
No. Research on an ingredient or probiotic strain does not automatically establish the efficacy of the finished Synaptigen product.
References & evidence
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Probiotics: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Background on probiotics, strain specificity, labeling, safety, and evidence.
- PubMed — The effects of inulin on gut microbial composition: a systematic review of human studies. Human evidence on inulin-type fructans and gut-microbiota outcomes.
- PubMed — Influence of oral probiotic Streptococcus salivarius K12: systematic review. Strain-specific evidence context for S. salivarius K12; not proof for an unspecified strain.
- PubMed — Safety assessment of Streptococcus salivarius DB-B5 as a probiotic candidate. Illustrates why strain identification matters when discussing probiotic evidence.
External references are provided for independent scientific and regulatory context. No seller website links are used on this site.
