Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04: What the Label Tells Us
A closer look at the one probiotic in Synaptigen's proprietary blend that is shown with a strain designation.
Why BL-04 is more specific than a species name
A probiotic name can include genus, species and strain. “BL-04” provides more identification than a species-only listing and makes it easier to search for research that actually matches the organism. That does not mean every outcome reported for the strain will apply to every formulation or dose.
How BL-04 is listed in Synaptigen
The label places Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04 alongside Lactobacillus paracasei and L. reuteri. Together, the proprietary blend is listed as 20 mg and 3.5 billion CFU at the time of manufacture. The label does not state what percentage of those CFU are BL-04.
What strain matching can and cannot do
When a published study names BL-04, strain matching removes one source of uncertainty. Important uncertainties still remain: dose, delivery format, co-administered strains, participant population, health status and measured outcomes may differ from Synaptigen.
For that reason, a strain-specific paper is stronger background evidence than a study on an entirely different strain, but it is still not a finished-product clinical trial.
Do strain studies establish a cognitive benefit?
No general rule allows a probiotic strain studied for one outcome to be relabeled as a cognitive enhancer. Cognitive claims require cognitive endpoints. A broader 2020 meta-analysis of probiotic, prebiotic and fermented-food interventions did not find significant pooled effects on global cognition, illustrating why selective citation can be misleading.
What a buyer can reasonably conclude
The product label supplies a useful level of identity for BL-04 but not an individual dose. Consumers evaluating evidence should look for studies that match both the strain and the health question, and should keep finished-product claims separate from ingredient research.
BL-04 provides a stronger identifier, but dose still matters
Unlike the species-only listings for some organisms, the Synaptigen label names Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04. A strain-style identifier improves evidence matching because published work that specifically uses BL-04 is more relevant than work on an unrelated Bifidobacterium strain. Even then, relevance is not the same as proof of the finished product’s claimed outcome.
The label places BL-04 within a 20 mg proprietary probiotic blend that is described as 3.5 billion CFU at manufacture. It does not disclose the individual amount or CFU for BL-04. If an independent study uses a different dose, combination, duration or population, those differences affect how confidently its result can be applied.
For cognitive claims in particular, a study would need to measure cognitive outcomes rather than simply gut-microbiome changes. Showing that a strain survives, changes a microbial marker or affects another health endpoint is scientifically interesting, but it does not automatically establish memory or focus benefits.
The purpose of this page is to separate what can be verified from what remains uncertain. Product-label facts are treated as product facts; independent studies are used for context; and conclusions are not extended beyond the formulation, dose, strain, population or outcome that the evidence actually supports.
How we evaluate evidence for “Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04: What the Label Tells Us”
Ingredient research needs an identity check before it needs a benefit claim. For probiotics, genus, species and strain can matter; for a prebiotic such as inulin, the amount used in a study matters; for a proprietary blend, the undisclosed allocation of individual components limits dose matching. This page therefore starts with what the Synaptigen label actually discloses and only then moves to independent evidence.
A second filter is outcome matching. Research showing a change in gut bacteria, oral bacteria, tolerance or another biological marker is not automatically evidence of improved memory or focus. A cognitive claim requires a study that actually measures a relevant cognitive outcome, ideally using the same formulation, dose and target population.
The final filter is finished-product relevance. Even high-quality research on an individual ingredient does not prove that Synaptigen as a finished product produces the same result. That distinction is repeated across this ingredient library because it is central to responsible supplement interpretation.
Frequently asked questions
Is BL-04 a strain designation?
Yes. The Synaptigen label identifies Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04.
How many CFU of BL-04 are in each tablet?
The label gives 3.5 billion CFU for the proprietary blend as a whole, not for BL-04 individually.
References & evidence
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Probiotics: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Background on probiotics, strain specificity, labeling, safety, and evidence.
- PubMed — Probiotics, prebiotics, fermented foods and cognitive outcomes: systematic review and meta-analysis. Randomized-trial evidence review; pooled results did not show a significant global cognitive benefit.
External references are provided for independent scientific and regulatory context. No seller website links are used on this site.
